The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I haven’t quite gotten the hang of blogging, which is why I was hesitant to accept Rebecca Snow‘s invitation to participate in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop, but after thinking it over, I figured, What the hell… I’ve had this page up for awhile now and haven’t done much with it except post excerpts of works in progress; taking part in the tour would give me the chance to test the waters. So without further ado…

What is the working title of your book? The working title is Maggie Creek Road. it will change, but that’s what I’m working with at the moment.

Where did the idea come from for the book? As I mentioned in a previous post, certain story ideas come to me while listening to music. This particular project is no exception. I was listening to Reba’s version of a song by the same name. The lyrics kept repeating themselves in my head, and eventually the music fell away and I had only the narrative. Then I started asking myself questions, the what ifs, and I had the roots of the story.

What genre does your book fall under? Horror. What else?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? This is a tough question, because I’m not up on all the celebrities. You also need to take into account who you want your main audience to be? But on a purely personal level, if I had done this particular story line years ago, I would have said Eliza Dushku, but she’s too old now to play the teenage role, so now I would have to go with Nina Dobrev. She’s a name with the younger crowd. She could carry off the role of an 18 year old, and based in the work she’s done, I believe she’d be able to play the dual nature required for the character.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Sixteen years after being gang raped and left for dead, a woman seeks revenge on those who attacked her.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Not sure yet. The more I hear about traditional publishing, especially the Big Six (or is it Five now?), I would be tempted to say self-published, and if not self, then definitely a smaller press.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I’m still working on it, but 60,000 words, I’m about half way done, and that took me a little over a month. I’m one of those, though, who can’t just spit out a first draft, then go back and revise. If I could do that, it probably would have been completed by now.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? This is something I try not to do, and I wish this wasn’t one of the questions, but since it is, I guess I have to answer. Off the top of my head, I would have to say Bryan Smith’s The Killing Kind. There’s quite a bit of sex and murder, but not all the characters are bonkers.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? The characters did. Sometimes they get in your head and they won’t shut up until their story is told.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Did I mention the sex? There’s quite a bit of sex.

What? No more questions? This was just starting to be fun. Well, tune in next week to the following blogs to read about More Big Things (NO! Not that! Get your mind out of the gutter!) coming your way: Tamara Thorne, Andrew E. Kaufman, and Eli Wilde (link to come).

About Michael Evans

Michael J. Evans is a relative newcomer to the world of Horror Fiction. He is currently at work editing/rewriting his first novel manuscript, tentatively titled Ursa Major. His short story, "Forgive Me, Father, For I Have...Burp", was recently published in May December Publications zombie anthology, First Time Dead 1. His short story, "Mutation", was published in May December Publications all-male zombie anthology, Chivalry Is Dead. Also available on Amazon and Smashwords is his disturbing short story, Undying Love. He is currently working on several novellas, the beginnings of which can be found here, as well as several novel manuscripts, for which you will find the first chapter of one of them here as well.

Posted on December 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

